Judas Priest - Defenders of the Faith (Vinyl) 1984 CBS

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.95
  • Will be in stock after
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • Contains original inner full color lyric sleeve in mint cond.
  • 1984 CBS FC-39219
  • Pre-owned Vinyl
  • No rips, tears, seam splits or tears. 
  • VG++ Vinyl / VG+ Sleeve

The last quality album from Judas Priest's commercial period, Defenders of the Faith reaching the heights of British Steel or Screaming for Vengeance with remarkably high percentage of hidden gems waiting to be unearthed, making Defenders possibly the most underrated record in Priest's catalog. Musically, it follows the basic blueprint of Screaming for Vengeance, alternating intricate speed rockers with fist-pumping mid-tempo grooves and balancing moderate musical sophistication with commercial accessibility. It's a craftsmanlike record from a band that had been in the game for a full decade already, but was still vital and exciting, and decidedly not on autopilot (yet). The record opens high-energy with the terrific "Freewheel Burning" and "Jawbreaker" before moving into lost anthem "Rock Hard Ride Free," the more complex "The Sentinel," the cold, oddly mechanized single "Love Bites," and the slightly darker "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll." Coincidentally (both were released the same year), there's a bit of Spinal Tap creeping into the band's approach on side two -- not just in calling a song "Heavy Duty," but also in the ridiculous rough-sex ode "Eat Me Alive," which comes off like an S&M-themed "Sex Farm" (albeit without the tasteful subtlety). It wound up getting the band in trouble with Tipper Gore's PMRC, though one wonders if it would have helped or hindered their cause that the song's sexual aggression was, in hindsight, not directed at women. At any rate, Defenders of the Faith charted only one spot lower than its predecessor, and was certified platinum. Hereafter, Priest would have significant difficulties adapting to the fast-changing landscape of heavy metal in the latter half of the '80s.

  1. Freewheel Burning 4:24
  2. Jawbreaker 3:26
  3. Rock Hard Ride Free 5:34
  4. The Sentinel 5:04
  5. Love Bites 4:47
  6. Eat Me Alive 3:34
  7. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll 4:05
  8. Night Comes Down 3:58
  9. Heavy Duty 2:25
  10. Defenders Of The Faith 1:30

About Girder's Pre-Owned Vinyl: All pre-owned vinyl is professionally cleaned and comes in plastic poly sleeve to protect the record sleeve as well as with a new vinyl paper insert sleeve to protect the record. the record also comes shipped on the outside of the sleeve to protect the sleeve from ring wear.  If the record comes with inserts such as a poster or inner lyric sleeve, they will be inside the jacket to protect them.  As always if you have any questions or concerns about your vinyl record or wish to see the condition of it, please do not hesitate to ask. We will do our best to accommodate.