Betrayal 2 CD Bundle - Renaissance By Death/The Passing 2 CDs



  • 2 CD Bundle
  • Brutal thrash is back and better than ever!!!  For fans of Believer, Deliverance, Slayer, Exodus, Overkill, Testament, Tourniquet, The Crucified, Detritus, D.R.I.
  • Includes RipStream - Free Digital Downloads.
  • Remastered by by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Legends of Rock


BETRAYAL is on of the most iconic legends of Thrash and if you've followed them for very long we probably don't need to tell you how sought after Betrayal is and to finally get both of their albums remastered is something that every single Thrash enthusiast has been dreaming of.  We've been working on making these reissues happen since last year.  We are thrilled that now that we are into the 2nd half of 2019 we can finally make it official and let you in on this tightly guarded secret.  Both Betrayal albums 'Renaissance By Death' (1991 Wonderland) as well as 'The Passing' (1993 Wonderland) are getting remastered by the great Rob Colwell. To make it even more special GIRDER  we will be releasing these on Vinyl as well as CD.  Both CDs are going to made immediately available as well as the Vinyl of 'Renaissance By Death'. We will do 'The Passing' on vinyl a bit later on. They will also include bonus tracks. 

All order will come with RipStream digital downloads when it ships.

Renaissance by Death includes the cassette-single release of 'FEAR BE GONE' and 'FALLEN DECEIVED (Industrial Remix)'  as well as The RIVILING DARKNESS 4-Song DEMO.

Who is Betrayal?

Betrayal was a forerunner of technical speed metal.  The band was formed early on as Martyr and after a few personnel changed their name to Betrayal. Their first album, 'Renaissance By Death' set the standard for thrash metal and soon after they released their second album 'The Passing' and then disappeared, but not before making a major impact on the Christian Metal market.  Both albums were originally released on Wonderland Records who also owned Intense Records (Vengeance, Sacred Warrior, Deliverance) before selling it off to Frontline Music. 

Both of these masterpieces are complete unadulterated trash onslaughts mixing west coast thrash metal, and old school speed-metal with some early hardcore elements which comes through in the vocals.

Renaissance By Death starts off with this incredible instrumental that is epic with keys, dulcimer and then dives deep into a dark minor doom-like progression that is slow and dark. The second song The Invitation sets the tone for this albums that kicks into high gear with turns and with speed fluctuations. Double bass, non-growling vocals abound on this album with some very unique guitar tones. The vocals are reminiscent of early Crucified, Believer and Slayer.  The album also boast some of the greatest song titles such as Mortal Flesh, Prophets of Baal, Escaping the Altar and more.  However this version will contain correct spelling of all song titles. ; ) 

The Passing, Betrayals second album, is a polished production with more industrial influences than their first. It's still Thrash but it's clear that these guys are now seasoned and great at their craft.  Like the difference between Barren Cross 'Atomic Arena' and 'State of Control' or the difference between Stryper's 'Yellow and Black Attack' and 'Soldiers Under Command'.  All great albums but just more polished and time taken to make a stunning quality piece of work. "The Usurper" their second track takes you thrash journey of heavy breakdowns while the songs 'Ichabod' and 'Race of Hypocrisy' are 4 mins each of amazing technical progression and proficiency slowing down for 'Forest of Horrors' and 'Whispers of Chaos'. One listen through it'll become quite clear why although they put out only 2 albums in the 90's they remain favorites of thrash enthusiast across the globe. 

Renaissance By Death

Marcus N. Colon - Lead & Rhythm Guitars, BGVs
Matt Maners - Lead Rhythm Guitars
Chris Ackerman - Lead Vocals
Jeff Lain - Bass Guitar
Brian Meuse - Drums

  1. Renaissance By Death
  2. The Invitation
  3. Fallen Deceived
  4. More Faith Than Me
  5. Escaping the Altar
  6. Assassins In the Midst
  7. Mortal Flesh
  8. Stroll Thru a Wicked Age
  9. Prophets of Baal
  10. Plead the Blood
  11. Fear Be Gone (Single) - Not on Original Album.
  12. Fallen Deceived (Industrial Remix)
  13. Prophets of Baal
  14. Fear Be Gone
  15. Frantic
  16. When Darkness Falls

The Passing

Chris Ackerman - Lead Vocals
Marcus N. Colon - Lead & Rhythm Guitars, BGVs
Jeff Mason -  Rhythm Guitars
Jeff Lain - Bass Guitar
Bob McCue - Drums

  1. Renouncement
  2. The Usurper
  3. Carnival of Madness
  4. Ichabod
  5. Forest of Horrors
  6. Race of Hypocricy
  7. As I Turned Away
  8. Whispers of Chaos
  9. Strength of the Innocent
  10. Retaliatory Strike

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed