Decyfer Down - Scarecrow (CD)

Sold out
  • New Factory Sealed
  • 2013 Fair Trade Services 
  • 3621160759

Originally operating under the moniker Allysonhymn (pronounced "all-eyes-on-him"), Christian rockers Decyfer Down create a Wall of Sound with a message. Formed in 2002 around the talents of drummer Josh Oliver, vocalist/bassist Caleb Oliver, and guitarists Brandon Mills and Chris Clonts, the band's melodic and hard-driving debut, End of Grey, arrived on Sony Records in June 2006. The album proved to be quite popular in the Christian community, sending four consecutive singles into heavy rotation on the Internet radio station Caleb Oliver left the lineup shortly thereafter, and former Fighting Instinct vocalist T.J. Harris was enlisted in his place. Returning in 2009 with the Grammy-nominated sophomore effort Crash, Decyfer Down garnered more support from independent Christian rock radio. Additionally, the album's title track was featured in the pay-per-view broadcast of WrestleMania XXV, thus exposing the band's music to a wider audience. The well-received, Fair Trade Services-issued Scarecrow dropped in 2013, followed by a compilation LP, Anthology, in 2014. Drummer Josh Oliver left the fold the following year, and in 2016 the band issued the crowd-funded Other Side of Darkness, their fourth studio outing and first independent release.

2013 release, the Grammy-nominated Christian Rock act's follow-up to their 2008 album Crash, Boasting a tantalizing mix of moody anthems, driving guitars and a heavy sound that is matched by weighty spiritual lyrics, Scarecrow proves the old adage, ''good things come to those who wait.'' The title track, 'Scarecrow' speaks to the fear of things that are different and unfamiliar, and how that fear keeps us from being accepting of people outside the church. 'The River' weaves in unexpected Americana and Southern Rock influences before cranking up the volume. Decyfer Down hearkens back to their 2006 groundbreaking debut, End of Grey, but with the added depth and layers that only age and experience can bring. Scarecrow offers up radio-ready Hard Rock that is accessible and edgy, without being predictable and off-putting

1 Memory
2 Westboro
3 Worst Enemy
4 Say Hello
5 Bleeding Lies
6 Fight To Win
7 Scarecrow
8 The River
9 Some Things Never Change
10 So In Love

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed