Skillet - Rise (CD) pre-owned MINT

Sold out

Rise is a gripping coming-of-age narrative that stands as Skillet's first concept album. The album tells the story of a typical American teen coming into adulthood and trying to figure out who he is in a world riddled with problems both within and outside his control.

The result is a wildly ambitious work as heady as it is visceral. Sonically, Rise sees Skillet expanding their musical palette, integrating natural, acoustic instruments like accordion, mandolin, dulcimer, harp, tympani and bells to their trademark slashing electric guitars, strings, churning synths and pummeling drum.


Take the influences and ideas of the different members, toss them into a skillet and see what’s cooking. Apparently that’s how the band came by its name. Today, the husband and wife team of John & Korey Cooper, Jen Ledger (drums) and Seth Morrison (lead guitar) continue to spread the word. The Christian rock band debuted in 1996 with a self-titled post-grunge oriented album that was well-received. Follow-up ‘Hey You, I Love Your Soul’ (1997) gravitated towards more accessible alternative rock but the fans still loved it. 2003’s ‘Collide’ made inroads into the mainstream. Apart from including synthesizers, they also like to bring in ‘non-metal’ instruments such as the kettledrum, the violin and the cello. Across the Atlantic Skillet are a major draw and ‘Rise’ was the best-selling rock record of 2013. Their most recent outing ‘Unleashed’ (2016) relies more heavily on electronics and keyboards without abandoning the arena rock vibe that permeates most of their work.

1. Rise

2. Sick Of It

3. Good To Be Alive

4. Not Gonna Die

5. Circus For A Psycho

6. American Noise

7. Madess In Me

8. Salvation

9. Fire And Fury

10. My Religion

11. Hard To Find

12. What I Believe

13. Battle Cry

14. Everything Goes Black


You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed