Leviticus Remastered CDs and Vinyl


I SHALL CONQUER (1984) CD & Vinyl

5 full length albums from Leviticus have been completely remastered and are available on CD with LTD Trading Cards, 8 page booklet in a jewel case. 4 of them are also on heavy weight random colored vinyl for the first time and come with lyrics and historical photo. 

  • CD Limited to 500 Pressed
  • 8 Page Booklet in Jewel Case, w/ Lyrics & Photos
  • CD Release Date: Nov. 5, 2021
  • Vinyl Release Date Dec 31, 2021
  • Limited Run Vinyl™ 200 Pressed
  • Color (Random) Heavy Weight Vinyl
  • Black Poly-lined Inner Sleeve
  • 2-Sided Full Color Printed Insert
  • Vinyl Ships in Bufferzone Mailer


    Leviticus could sure school the current generation of metal fans a few things, starting with the longevity that goes hand in hand with creating quality art that has stood the test of time.  Leviticus interweaved a foundation of melodic metal with tendencies towards power metal with I Shall Conquer, The Strongest Power and Setting Fire to the Earth along with some brilliant AOR moments with Knights of Heaven, thanks to John and Dino Elefante, to only be topped off with one of the best live performances ever (yeah, I just said that) Live at BobFest, which has none of what we all hated about live albums. More on that later.

     Let's back up a moment!


    Unlike the USA, not a lot of Christian Heavy Metal came out of Sweden. There have been a few bands, most notably Blindside, Crimson Moonlight, Divinefire, Jerusalem, Narnia, Pantokrator, Veni Domine, XT and of course Leviticus founded by Björn Stigsson, Håkan Andersson and Kjell Andersson in the early 80′s. 

    LEVITICUS amassed a huge following in Europe but attracted a much smaller following among Christian headbangers in America who had to scramble to find their products pre-internet. Thankfully, their albums were released in the United States on labels such as Pure Metal, Refuge, Spectra, and Solid Rock. 

    The band’s first EP was released in 1982, called Stå och titta på, with all lyrics in Swedish and later in 1983 Jag Skall Segra!, which Google translates as "I'll Win.” I'm not sure how accurate Google translations are because in 1983 Leviticus released an English version of that album titled I Shall Conquer (1984), which was most of America's first experience of the band. It'll also might help you understand why many of the lyrics didn't rhyme.  I remember shaking my head as a 15-year-old confused as to why musically it sounded so good but the lyrics felt a bit out of place.  Upon reflection, we understand all these years later that the album was written in Swedish and then transposed to English later on.  In any case, the album is raw, unpolished, and sometimes uneven, but I love the unpretentious sound and feel of it. The album has a dynamic range that extends from mid-tempo rockers to an almost peaceful, Pink Floyd kind of style on some songs. The vocals by original singer/bassist Håkan Andersson really make this a work of art.  Loaded with keyboards and guitars yet somehow not too flashy.  It's a solid mid-tempo hard rocker, but the real show-stoppers are the quieter, more reflective tracks "Psalm 23" and "All Is Calm." Both build to a crescendo in a grandeur way.  If you haven't experienced Leviticus before, start here with I Shall Conquer.

    In 1985, Leviticus released a real powerhouse album called The Strongest Power (1985).  According to the metal magazine, Kerrang, the album was ”one of the best records of the year”... which incidentally came from one of the most respected music magazines.  It also had two different covers or alternate covers, which we have made available on the CD. Just flip it over. 

    In 1987, Håkan Andersson left the band and was replaced by Ez Gomér, and Terry Haw became the band’s lead singer. (Both, left and later former Jet Circus.) 

    Leviticus released their third album Setting Fire To the Earth (1987), which became a best-seller around the world, and included many great reviews in multiple different music magazines. The album finally got the group noticed in North America during their 1988 US Tour opening for Larry Norman and serving as his backing band. “Flames of Fire” and “Saved” are standout metal songs on that release, with “The Suffering Servant” being a particularly strong ballad (based on Isaiah 41 and 53).

    In 1989, Leviticus released their fourth album Knights of Heaven (1989), which was the band’s fourth release (unless you count their Swedish debut Jag Skull) and was produced by John and Dino Elefante and exhibits a AOR rock sound remarkably like Petra, The Brave, Guardian and other Pakaderm bands. It received great reviews in a lot of magazines worldwide. The Swedish newspaper, ”Göteborgs-Posten” wrote ”Leviticus takes the top position in Swedish hardrock, together with Europe. On this album, Peo Pettersson replaced Terry H. on lead vocals and Niklas Franklin replaced Ez Gomér on the bass guitar. 

    In 2003, 13 years later, the band released the album, Live at Bobfest. Thankfully Live at Bobfest gives you all the things you want in a live performance and none of the things you don't and just might be one of the best live albums you have ever set your ears to.  Live albums are not popular for three main reasons.  The audio quality is nowhere near the level and quality of studio albums, the singer often goes off into different vocal arrangements or lack thereof, which is not what the fans wanna hear, they want to sing along to the same song that they've been singing along to in their car.  The other reason would be all the ad lib and talking between songs and chiding with the crowd.  Without context it's impossible to feel like you were a part of it.  


    Leviticus – I Shall Conquer (1984)
    Björn Stigsson - All guitars, Moog-Taurus pedal, Syntesizers, vocals
    Håkan Andersson – Bass, Moog – Taurus pedal, lead-vocals
    Kjell Andersson - Drums and Percussion

    1. I Shall Conquer
    2. Let Me Fight
    3. He’s My Life
    4. Doubt
    5. Action More Than Words
    6. All Is Calm
    7. Day by Day
    8. Strive Forwards
    9. Psalm 23

    Leviticus – The Strongest Power (1985)
    Björn Stigsson – synthesizers, bass pedal, organ, guitars and vocals
    Håkan Andersson – Lead vocals, bass, basspedal and synthesizers
    Kjell Andersson - Drums, percussion and vocals

    1. The Winner
    2. Deborah And Barak
    3. On The Rock
    4. King Of Kings
    5. Stay With Us
    6. I Got Power
    7. Look Around
    8. I Love You
    9. A New Day
    10. Light For The World


    Leviticus – Setting Fire To the Earth (1987)
    Björn Stigsson – All guitars, basspedals and vocals
    Kjell Andersson – Drums, percussion and vocals
    Terry Haw – Lead vocals
    Ez Gomer – Bass, basspedals and vocals

    1. Flames of Fire
    2. Saved
    3. The First & the Last
    4. I`m a Believer
    5. Don`t Go Out
    6. Elijah On Carmel
    7. The Suffering Servant
    8. Get Up
    9. Love Is Love


    Leviticus – Knights of Heaven (1989)
    Björn Stigsson – All guitars and vocals
    Peo Pettersson - Lead vocals and keyboards
    Kjell Andersson - Drums and percussion
    Niklas Franklin – Bass and vocals

    1. Born Again
    2. The World Goes Round
    3. Isn`t It Love
    4. Oh Lord
    5. Feel So Good
    6. Strong Love
    7. Messiah
    8. Over the Hills
    9. For Once In My Life
    10. Love On Fire


    Leviticus – Live At Bobfest (2003)
    Björn Stigsson – All guitars and vocals
    Peo Pettersson - Lead vocals and
    Niklas Edberger - Keyboards
    Kjell Andersson - Drums
    Niklas Franklin – Bass

    1. Flames Of Fire
    2. Saved
    3. Messiah
    4. Oh Lord
    5. Majestic In Power
    6. On The Rock
    7. All Is Calm
    8. Born Again
    9. The Suffering Servant
    10. Deborah And Barak
    11. I'm Gonna Rock
    Previous article PETRA - Washes Whiter Than, Never Say Die, Not Of This World
    Next article Degarmo and Key