KING'S X - PLEASE COME HOME...MR. BULBOUS (*NEW-GOLD DISC CD, 2021, Brutal Planet Records) Expanded Booklet + Brilliant Remaster!

  • Elite 2021 Remaster by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound
  • Gold Disc CD to discourage disc rot and add beauty and elegance
  • Every CD comes with a deluxe foil-stamped collector's card of King's X
  • Expanded 12-page insert with lyrics and additional band pics
  • Gold Disc border on the front cover - but the back of the booklet features the front cover with no Gold border around the outside edges
  • In the year 2000, King's X came in at #83 on VH1's 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock Countdown


That record (Tape Head), Mr. Bulbous, Manic Moonlight....we...made those records together, wrote together and that's how those records came about.  And that's kind of a nice period for me - to think just the three of us can do that.  They are three of my favorite records.   
          (from King's X: An Oral History)   Jerry Gaskill (King's X drummer)

I have to say I love PCHMB. In fact for me it wasn't even a "grower." I took to it right from the get go. It's maybe my 2nd favorite KX album after Gretchen.

Ty played the lead on the song ("She's Gone Away") - just to have a scratch track where the lead was. But the one take lead was so good, we wouldn't let him re-do it. And, it's probably one of the best leads I've ever heard him do. 
    (from King's X: An Oral History)   Doug Pinnick (lead vocalist, King's X)

I remember coming up with the most unpredictable chord progression ever, and then working with Doug on making a melody.....I remember we did whatever we had to to get the line down.... But it turned out being super-cool when it finally clicked. 
   (from King's X: An Oral History)   Ty Tabor (guitarist, King's X)

Ty's shining moment comes in "She's Gone Away," which contains quite possibly the finest King's X guitar solo ever committed to tape. Ty's soaring tones, powered by his new signature-model Yamaha guitar, have never sounded better. Jerry has long been the unsung hero of King's X. Here, with his poetic interludes, he finally gets his chance to take the forefront                        Phantom Tollbooth Reviews 

Please Come Home...Mr. Bulbous album title was selected because the band was convinced Gretchen Goes....was a terrible album name that worked out pretty well, so the band went with PCH...MB and decided the title means nothing, or it meant everything.  Once again, the band was writing the album together in the studio, and the guys hit some real high moments.  At Brutal Planet Records, we remember being less than enamored with this album when it released.  But 20+ years later, we dare say the album has aged better than any album we have ever heard.  Songs like "Fish Bowl Man," "Julia,", "She's Gone Away," and the unforgettable, "Charlie Sheen" (not actually about the actor, really) are some of the most exquisite tracks ever to grace a King's X album.  The album is nothing less than pure, rock and roll brilliance from a band no longer trying to be a commercial success, but simply creating music that reflects their hearts and souls.  How much more can a band offer it's fans?  Stretching themselves on this album more than any other, they went outside the box and they created a masterpiece together, from scratch.  Now the album get's the deluxe Gold Disc treatment with an expanded booklet with lyrics and additional band pics.  And, every CD comes with an exclusive King's X foil-stamped collector's card! 


1 Fish Bowl Man 4:28
2 Julia 3:39
3 She's Gone Away 4:37
4 Marsh Mellow Field 5:30
5 When You're Scared 4:26
6 Charlie Sheen 3:51
7 Smudge 3:52
8 Bitter Sweet 2:13
9 Move Me 4:58
10 Move Me (Part Two) 7:17

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed