Brother Cane - 30th Anniversary Edition


We are so honored to be able to work with Damon Johnson and Brother Cane on the the 30th Anniversary fully remastered release of their debut 1993 award winning album. This is the first time it is on vinyl.  Both black and a webstore exclusive Orange/Purple Vinyl will be available along with a new remastered 30th anniversary CD containing 2 bonus tracks and and LTD collector card and an orange cassette. You can also grab 1 of only 100 bundles that will contain all those items along with autographed 11x17 band poster and band sticker. Poster will be autographed by founding member Damon Johnson.

  • 30th Anniversary Release
  • Remastered Audio
  • Mastered for Vinyl
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Webstore Exclusive Orange/Purple Vinyl
  • CD w/ 2+ Bonus Tracks
  • Orange Cassette
  • Bundle available with Sticker and Autographed Poster 

    Brother Cane is an American rock band originally from Birmingham, Alabama. Formed by singer/guitarist Damon Johnson and bassist Glenn Maxey in 1991, the group released three studio albums and several charting singles including three number 1’s and five top 10 hits.  Brother Cane released the band's debut self-titled album in 1993 on Virgin Records. The album peaked at #14 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and would produce several hit singles including "Got No Shame" (#2 Mainstream Rock), "That Don't Satisfy Me" (#6 Mainstream Rock), and "Hard Act To Follow" (#12 Mainstream Rock). The album evoked the classic rock sound of early Black Crowes and Guns N' Roses. The album was produced by the legendary songwriter and record producer Martin "Marti" Frederiksen. The album garnered the band U.S. tours with Aerosmith, Robert Plant, and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

    The band’s next album, Seeds, yielded the #1 Rock track, the haunting and swampy, “And Fools Shine On.” This hit led to a lengthy and successful tour in support of the mighty Van Halen. Their last release, Wishpool, brought Brother Cane another #1 song at Rock Radio, “I Lie In The Bed I Make”. After major personnel changes at Virgin Records, the band’s label, as well as a major shift in style at rock and alt radio formats, the band went on what turned out to be an extended hiatus. During this time, Damon Johnson toured the world as the guitarist for legends, Alice Cooper and Thin Lizzy. Just when he thought all of his musical dreams had come true, In early 2021 Damon was asked to fill in for the legendary Guitarist and founding member of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Gary Rossington. A position that Damon still holds today. While touring with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Johnson was pleasantly surprised on how many fans not only remembered Brother Cane but shared their stories on how much the band and those songs meant to them.

    It all started with this 1993 Self-titled Debut! Beautifully repackaged and first time on vinyl now 30 Years Later.

    SIDE A
    1. Got No Shame 4:32
    2. Hard Act To Follow 4:31
    3. How Long 5:08
    4. Don’t Turn Your Back On Me     4:52
    5. Woman 5:36
    6. Pressure  4:27

    SIDE B
    1. The Last Time 5:40
    2. The Road 4:40
    3. That Don’t Satisfy Me 4:41
    4. Stone’s Throw Away 4:35
    5. Make Your Play 7:12
    1.     Got No Shame 4:32
    2.     Hard Act To Follow 4:31
    3.     How Long 5:08
    4.     Don’t Turn Your Back On Me 4:52
    5.     Woman 5:36
    6.     Pressure  4:27
    7.     The Last Time 5:40
    8.     The Road 4:40
    9.     That Don’t Satisfy Me 4:41
    10.     Stone’s Throw Away 4:35
    11.     Make Your Play 7:12
    12.     Rattle My Bones 
    13.     Cold Heart 
    “Rattle My Bones” started as a monster guitar riff I brought to a writing session with the late great West Arkeen. Once I accepted the position of being the singer in Chyld (soon to be changed to Brother Cane) there was no question I needed to step on the gas with co-writing some new songs. All I had ever done up to this point was write plenty of riffs and chord progressions, but zero lyrics and vocal melodies. West’s name was on a long list of songwriters I had gotten from our newly acquired publishing company, EMI Music. As a massive fan of the first three Guns N Roses albums, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw that West was also signed to EMI Publishing (West had co-written “It’s So Easy” off of Appetite For Destruction, as well as three songs on the Use Your Illusion albums). Though I had agreed to collaborate with several other writers through our A&R man Aaron Jacoves, West was the only person I requested an audience with by name. We met at a hotel in Nashville in the fall of ’91 after he had already attempted working/writing with some other new bands; none of which yielded any results West was excited about. He was ornery and impatient and suffered no fools, and thank the gods I showed up that day with a decent guitar riff up my sleeve. West quickly threw most of the lyrics onto a sheet of hotel stationary, inspired by my riff that I had basically lifted from an old Rainbow song, “Kill The King”. We laughed and bonded over our badass new song and I rushed back home to Birmingham the next morning to show it to the guys in my band. Though “Rattle…” didn’t make the album, two other West Arkeen contributions did make the debut: “Make Your Play” and “Pressure”. West was a fearless talent and provided much needed encouragement to help steer my creative ship in an authentic direction, at a time I needed it most. 

    “Cold Heart” was a song I wrote with the incredibly talented and soulful Michael Dan Ehmig. Michael was recommended through some mutual friends shortly after Chyld signed our development deal with Virgin Records but before the time we started auditioning potential new singers. Michael had written songs for Meatloaf, Kansas and Ian Moore (among others) and was also a fantastic singer. He was the first co-writer to ask me “what new music do you like?” and I couldn’t get the names Guns N Roses and The Black Crowes out of my mouth fast enough. “Cold Heart” is very much in the vein of some Black Crowes ballads that I love like “Seeing Things” and “Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye”, and Michael was super patient with me as I contributed a few lyrics that he helped develop into something very cool. Listening to it 30 years after we recorded it I can’t help but chuckle at how hard I was trying to sound like the rock & soul singers I loved like Wilson Pickett and Paul Rodgers, and failing miserably yet committed to working hard at all costs. I love the 6/8 time signature and all the guitar licks scattered throughout, and am thrilled this song is finally out there for Brother Cane fans to hear. 


    Next article International Shipping