Joy Williams – Venus (New-Vinyl)


We strongly encourage you to purchase hassle-free low cost insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order against damage, not just this item. Insurance does not cover lost packages or delays by the carrier. 

  • New Sealed Vinyl Record
  • 2015 Sensibility Music
  • Pop Rock

Beautiful songs that tell stories of her journeys. Recommended for anyone who appreciates getting lost in the lyrics and enjoys the sound of a beautiful natural voice. She speaks from her soul which is a refreshing change from what is popular in today's music.

Many know Joy Williams as one half of the four-time Grammy-winning folk-rock duo The Civil Wars. Until their 2012 hiatus (and eventual break up in August 2014) the singer-songstress with her long sea witch hair and Mona Lisa half-smile rarely revealed herself, except through the duo s bruising and stark lyrics of romantic conflations and doomed intimacies.

On VENUS she changes all that. No longer content to just conjure the antique grace of some mythic, bygone world, Williams was intent to actually pierce the veil of metaphor and an imagined history and tell a more honest, human story of one woman s journey out of darkness.

Over 11 unstintingly honest songs, she unabashedly re-counts what occurred in her life over the past two and a half years. She doesn't try to defend or explain, but in-stead tells a simple straightforward story of events, sparing no one, especially herself.

Over the arc of the album, the listener can feel Williams coming home to herself, after fearlessly excavating all the pain and confusion. In the end she can see her life from a great altitude, able to view her choices as an overarching geography that finally makes sense to her, freeing her to become the woman she needed to be. To find the parts of herself that were broken, becoming stronger and content to just be.

You might call it a coming-of-age album, but it is so much more than that. It shows how one woman has come to live her truth the good, the bad, the petulant, the honorable and in the end, shows all of us how to live our own.

Track Listing

 A1 Before I Sleep
A2 Sweet Love Of Mine
A3 Woman (Oh Mama)
A4 One Day I Will
A5 Not Good Enough
A6 What A Good Woman Does
B1 Until The Levee
B2 You Loved Me
B3 The Dying Kind
B4 Till Forever
B5 Welcome Home


You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed