Halo - Life Goes On (CD) FIRST TIME ON CD. Sounds like Van Halen.


  • 1982 Unreleased Album
  • Includes 11 songs
  • 2020 Girder Records
  • Remastered by Rob Colwell
  • For Fans of Van Halen

We found a HALO project buried deep in the vaults. For the first time ever their 1982 album LIFE GOES ON is coming to life on CD. It's faster, heavier and sounds very 80's melodic metal.  The entire album is filled with Van Halen like guitar heroics.  Seriously.... every song is a guitar filled rocker and most of it actually sounds like Eddie Van Halen in the background, especially if you ever listen to Van Halen's debut (1978) with Eruption and Runnin' With the Devil.  WE ARE STUNNED THAT THIS WAS NEVER RELEASED. No we are not saying that anyone can compare to Eddie, he is one of a kind, but I can tell you that this is a really close 2nd. 

30 years after HALO released their amazing self-titled debut on Pakaderm you get to hear early incarnations of  Time To Run as well as Jesus Music, both of which made it to their Pakaderm debut, however you will also hear 9 songs never before released and thought to have been missing forever. This is HALO 1982.  Even after a conversation with John Elefante, he expressed that he never even knew that this album existed but just knew the band had been touring around and playing non-stop for almost an entire decade before he signed them to the label. 

This Van Halen like project is heavy, fast, albeit rough demo form. I only wish this album would have been released and been given some amazing production, but grateful to have it in any form. We couldn't wait to be the ones that dropped this. So if you followed HALO at all, you'll want to grab this, as it is getting remastered and will be in limited supply.  

  1. Time To Run
  2. The Welder
  3. I Love Jesus
  4. The King Is Alive
  5. Life Goes On
  6. Get Saved
  7. Jesus Music
  8. The Witness
  9. Miracles
  10. The Cross
  11. Jesus Cares

HALO was a power rock trio formed in 1980 by Scott Springer (vocalist), Mike Graham (drummer), and Keith Mims (guitarist). In the early days, HALO would set up in local parking lots on flatbed trailers, Friday and Saturday nights.  From those humble beginnings, word spread, and they started getting calls from local outreach ministries to play in churches and Christian coffee shops. In 1982, while playing in Hueytown, Alabama, they met Eric and Eugene Bates of Bates Brothers Recording. HALO recorded this album in their studio. All but the last song was recorded  in one take. Only the last song only took two tries. HALO went on to become a AOR Melodic Rock power house recording 2 albums and a solo project for Pakaderm record. However, this missing album is raw, it’s authentic and it shows the band’s influences, specifically Van Halen, Boston, KISS and Journey. It contains two songs that made it to their debut album 9 years later, “Time to Run'' as well as “Jesus Music”. We hope you enjoy hearing the early HALO days and where it all began. 

Customer Reviews

Based on 6 reviews
Jeffrey Pierce
Halo cd

Excellent transaction


I like it. It is unpolished as if it were a live recording. It shows some of the original forms of the songs.

It's okay

If you listen to this in the context of a) it was their first project b) there isn't much production c) there couldn't have been any budget to speak of and d) you listen to it on its own--it's okay. I made the mistake of listening to the two 90s releases back-to-back and then putting this one on. Let's just say the 8 years between this one and the first label release were good for the band. I can't see me playing this one very often.


Some decent 80’s cheese

Steven Patrick Lee
Found Treasure

I have been a fan of this group since the original release in the 90s. I find it sad that almost everyone has forgotten them. But this found Treasure should help bring them back to everybody and assure their place in Christian Rock. I heartily recommend this album!!

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews ★ Write a Customer Review

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed