Petra - Beat the System (CD) ORIGINAL PRESSING

  • Mint Condition. Pre-Owned CD
  • 1984 Star Song
  • SSD8057

Beat the System is the seventh album from Christian rock band Petra. It was released in January 1985 by Star Song Records. It is the first album to feature John Lawry in keyboards, and the last studio album to feature lead singer Greg X. Volz.

Shortly after the band finished touring for More Power to Ya, keyboardist John Slick left the band. Heading to the studio, producer Jonathan David Brown approached keyboardist Carl Marsh to help him in the recording of Beat the System. Eventually, Brown decided not to use band members Louie Weaver and Mark Kelly for the recording of drums and bass respectively. Instead, he asked Marsh to record the instruments using a Fairlight synthesizer.

Although Petra had already featured keyboards notably in their previous album, the techno-like sound is more prominent in Beat the System. This is more evident because the album features synthesized bass and drums, performed by Carl Marsh. For example, songs like "Computer Brains" and "Witch Hunt" rely mostly on keyboards and special effects.

The album also features a new version of the song "God Gave Rock 'n' Roll to You", which the band had previously recorded in 1977.


1. Beat The System
2. Computer Brains
3. Clean
4. It Is Finished
5. Voice In The Wind
6. God Gave Rock & Roll To You
7. Witch Hunt
8. Hollow Eyes
9. Speak To The Sky
10. Adonai

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed