POUNDHOUND - MASSIVE GROOVES +1 (NEW-CD, 2021, Brutal Planet) King's X Vocalist / Remastered with bonus track (*New CD)

  • CD comes with Ltd Foil-Stamped Collector Card 
  • Debut solo project by Doug Pinnick (King's X vocalist)
  • Featuring Jerry Gaskill (King's X drummer)
  • Featuring Chad Lyons (Sonnier Brothers Band)
  • Shannon Larkin (Godsmack, Amen, Wrathchild America and Ugly Kid Joe) 
  • Expertly remastered by Bombworks Sound / Rob Colwell
  • 8-page booklet with lyrics
  • Featuring the extra Japan-only bonus track, "Anger

What is "psychofunkadelic grungelism?" You'll have to buy this album to find out, and yes, you'll love it! Doug Pinnick, the 12-string bass thunder of the iconic power trio King's X, has laid down an ear-pleasing, foot-stomping, hand-clapping set of tracks on an "electric poundation" of massive bass vibes that'll set your whole house-a-quaking. Pinnick's trademark silk-and-gravel vocals impart a variety of moods to the album, lending a funky gospel voice to songs like "Jangle" and "Shake," a bluesy world-weariness to "Soul" and "Friends," a Hendrix-style otherworldliness to "Red." Pinnick's understated guitar work is masterful (he plays all guitars as well as bass). The driving, crashing drum work of Chad Lyons, Jerry Gaskill, and Shannon Larkin (ex Wrathchild America and Ugly Kid Joe drummer) expand the vibes on this album to a truly massive, glorious wall of sound. Pinnick's innovative, enormously influential career ought by now to have earned him a prime seat in the first rank of African American rockers, right beside Jimi Hendrix and Sly Stone. This music is great enough to give him the recognition he deserves. It's up to us fans to get the secret out.  This 1998 masterpiece has been digitally remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound, and includes the Japan-only bonus track, "Anger," and comes with a 12x12 insert featuring rare band photos and lyrics.  Limited to just 200 Black and 200 Random Color - get this treasure while you can!Music

Longtime King's X vocalist/bassist Doug Pinnick steps into the spotlight via his very first solo project, Poundhound. Whereas his fellow bandmember Ty Tabor's solo album (Moonflower Lane) is more about sunny melodicism and songcraft à la the Beatles, Pinnick's album Massive Grooves from the Electric Church of Psychofunkadelic Grungelism Rock Music is a "darker" affair that stresses the importance of the almighty groove. Pinnick has always been one of the most groove-heavy bassists of rock, no doubt due to the use of a 12-string bass and an influence from funk music. While King's X-like vocal melodies do crop up on the tracks "Soul" and "Love," other songs like "Shake," "Music," and "Darker" are more straightforward, hitting you on a gut level. Massive Grooves deals with the not always pleasant topics of alienation, loss, and regret; "Friends" discusses several of Pinnick's real-life "friends," one who "cuts himself to numb the pain," another who is "going to die in jail," and a third who witnessed his father murder his mother as a youngster. But by album's end, Pinnick has resolved some of his issues, as evidenced by the soothing, subtle gospel sounds of "River."   

              Music Critic / All Music Reviews by Greg Prato

It’s heavy groove based rock with the best soul singer in metal....Doug’s bass and guitar sound amazing (you will rarely hear such a full bass sound).  

                     Mike Ladono (Music Critic)

Although Poundhound never really strays far from the style of music created by Pinnick’s full-time job, i.e. thundering rhythms, unexpected syncopation, nifty chord changes, and tasty six-string work, Pinnick nonetheless has forged a set of songs with a distinct identity of their own. I can’t see any King’s X fans being alienated by Massive Grooves, which reinforces King’s X’s credibility rather than diminishing it.
        That Devil Music: The Reverend's Rock 'n' Roll Archives

There are some seriously heavy songs ("Shake," "Darker") on this disc as well as some cool riffs and an almost Jimi Hendrix experimental feel. The whole disc smokes! The rest of the King's X guys make appearances in one way of another as well. Jerry Gaskill does some drum work and the disc is mastered by Ty Tabor. Catchy album title to boot.                 NoLifeTilMetal Reviews / Scott Waters

1 Rev
2 Jangle
3 Shake
4 Music
5 Love
6 Darker
7 Friends
8 Soul
9 Supersalad
10 Psycholove
11 Blindeye
12 Red
13 Hey
14 River
15 Anger

Product, Packaging, Shipping and Insurance

All new items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging and come without damage or cracks. Every record or CD is shipped in original factory sealed shrink wrap.  If we notice damage we will either put it in a new jewel case or send you a replacement case with your order. If you get a CD that is opened, it's because it was either an import or the jewel case was replaced.  If your product does meet your expectations, please contact us immediately.  All of our New CDs are factory sealed direct from the manufacture, distributors or bands. We sell pre-owned CDs as well which will be labels as pre-owned in the title, bullets or description. We do not sell CDRs or Syntax Creative that you get when you order CDs via print on demand from Amazon, yes those are also CDRs.
We strongly encourage you to purchase Insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order for lost, stolen or damaged while in transit, not just this item. Without insurance your product will not be replaced or refunded. 

All CDs are shipping in a high quality bubble mailer or rigid envelope via USPS First Class Mail or Media Mail. All domestic vinyl orders are shipped USPS Media Mail in the USA. All international orders are sent USPS First Class Airmail. We package all vinyl using heavy duty record mailers with padded inserts to minimize damage to vinyl during shipments. 99% arrive without issue. See our Shipping Insurance, Refunds, and Returns and Exchanges policy here



You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed