Rich Mullins (Pre-Owned Vinyl) VG++

Sold out
  • Pre-Owned Vinyl Record LP
  • Contain Original Lyric Sleeve
  • 1986 Reunion Records
  • His First Album
  • Includes the ever popular song ELIJAH

Rich MullCondition: 
Jacket = VG++
Sleeve = VG++/NM
Vinyl = NM+

This album is in impeccable shape with little to no issues.  Very slight corner bumps, almost looks new.


This 1986 Reunion Records from Rich Mullins includes the Live Right, Elijah, These Days and Prisoner to name a few. Great album and a must own for any Mullins fan.

Throughout his life, Rich was known for saying what he thought. And that is evident here from the very first disc. "A Few Good Men" is a challenge to live by your convictions. He continues that with a challenge to live with eternity in mind on "Live Right." Probably the most challenging song on here is "These Days," which really calls our culture on the carpet for the way we live our lives. The saddest thing is that is still applies all these years later. It is full of 80's pop production, from drum machines to synthesizers and heavy electric guitar.

The other flaw, for me, is "Save Me." I know many people love the song, but I've never truly been able to get into it. Frankly, I'd call what Rich does here speaking in rhythm instead of singing. And the lyrics make for a good modern poem, but they don't work for me as a song.

On the flip side, Elijah is absolutely outstanding. This track leaves most of the 80's pop sound behind. It's got a piano and string backing that is beautiful. And the lyrics are pure Rich as he sings of his desire to be in Heaven. It's a true classic and wonderful song.

  1. A Few Good Men
  2. A Place To Stand
  3. Live Right
  4. New Heart
  5. Elijah
  6. Nothing But A Miracle
  7. Both Feet On The Ground
  8. These Days
  9. Prisoner
  10. Save Me


Richard Wayne Mullins (October 21, 1955 – September 19, 1997) was an American Christian music singer and songwriter born in Richmond, Indiana. On September 19, 1997, Rich Mullins and his friend Mitch McVicker were traveling on I-39 north of Bloomington, Illinois to a benefit concert in Wichita, Kansas when his Jeep flipped over and that man we knew lost his life but his legend still is alive today as one of the greatest and most influential Christian artist of all time, next to only Keith Green and Larry Norman.

Rich's funeral was open to the public and was attended by a massive group of family and friends.  He is buried in Ohio, alongside his baby brother who died as an infant and his father.

Between 1974-78, Mullins attended Cincinnati Bible College. He worked in a parking garage to help pay for his schooling. From 1975 -1978 he was also the Music Director and Youth Director at Erlanger United Methodist Church in nearby Erlanger, Kentucky.

In the mid-1980s he moved to Nashville, Tennessee to begin his professional recording career.

Mullins is best known for his worship songs "Step by Step" (later incorporated into his hit single "Sometimes by Step") and "Awesome God", both of which have been embraced as modern classics by many Christians. Some of his albums are also considered among Christian music's best, including Winds of Heaven, Stuff of Earth (1988), The World As Best As I Remember It, Volume One (1991) and A Liturgy, A Legacy, & A Ragamuffin Band (1993). His music has been covered by many artists, including Caedmon's Call, Five Iron Frenzy, Amy Grant, Jars of Clay, Michael W. Smith, John Tesh, Chris Rice and Third Day.

In 1988, Mullins moved to Wichita, Kansas where, in 1991, he enrolled as a student at Friends University and lived with his best friend, David Strasser (a.k.a. Beaker). He graduated with a B.A. in Music Education on May 14, 1995 . After graduation, he and musician Mitch McVicker moved to a Navajo reservation in Tse Bonito, New Mexico to teach music to children. They lived in a hogan at the reservation until his death.

Rich Mullins is also remembered for his devotion to the Christian faith, which was often an inspiration to others. He was heavily influenced by St. Francis of Assisi (1181-1226). In 1997, he composed a musical called Canticle of the Plains, a retelling of the life of St. Francis set in the Old West. 
His biggest hits were the praise choruses Awesome God and Step by Step. Three of his albums are considered among Christian music's best: Winds of Heaven, Stuff of Earth (1988), The World As Best As I Remember It, Volume 1 (1991) and A Liturgy, a Legacy & a Ragamuffin Band (1993). The posthumous The Jesus Record include one disc of demos he had recorded shortly before his death, and a second disc of recordings of the songs completed by The Ragamuffin Band, several with guest vocalists.

Mullins often called St. Francis of Assisi (1181-1226) his hero. He modeled his life after St. Francis by showing great compassion towards the poor and adhering to a vow of poverty. In 1997, he composed a musical about the life of St. Francis set in the Old West titled Canticle of the Plains.

Mullins was seen as an enigma to the Christian music industry. Often barefoot, unshaven, and badly in need of a haircut, Mullins did not look like the average American Gospel music writer. He was very much at home among the non-Christians, and unafraid to name his own sin and inadequacies in public. This baffled some in the American Christian culture where he seemed an odd member. His lifestyle was unquestionably marked by devotion and discipline, yet his simultaneous refusal to subscribe to contemporary Christian "niceties" made him a bit of an uncomfortable presence in the Christian music culture. Although he achieved a significant amount of success on Christian radio, he never received a Dove Award until after his death.

Unlike most artists in Contemporary Christian music, Mullins did not consider his music his primary ministry, but rather a means to pay his bills. Instead, his ministry was the way he treated his neighbors, family, enemies, and those outside the church. Taking a vow of poverty, he accepted a small church salary and spent the last years of his life on a Navajo reservation teaching music to children.

We make every effort to describe vinyl accurately. On occasion there may be drop down selection for different versions, variation or conditions. If we only have 1 copy available, you will see it described here in more detail. Please read over the condition carefully. We describe both the record jacket and the vinyl record. We will also let you know if it contains a printed inner-sleeve and or other inserts such as lyric sheet and describe those as well. If nothing is listed it is not included. We use this record grading chart.

Professionally Cleaned
All of our pre-owned records are professionally cleaned and placed in a premium rice paper, anti-static master inner-sleeve, not one of those cheap white paper sleeves. We also place the outer record jacket in a new 3 mil poly sleeve which protects the jacket cover and spine, providing durability and longevity. When your vinyl arrives it will arrive shipped outside the the jacket. This provides further protection from damage. Please make sure you purchase the $5 insurance at checkout which covers your purchase from postal damage and harm. 

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed