TY TABOR - MOONFLOWER LANE + 1 (*NEW-CD, 2021, Brutal Planet) King's X guitarist Remaster w bonus track

  • Every CD comes with a Ltd Foil-Stamped Collector Card
  • Debut solo project by Ty Tabor (King's X guitarist)
  • Produced by Ty Tabor
  • Featuring Ben Huggins (vocals), Alan Doss (drums), Wally Farkas, and Monty Colvin of the Galactic Cowboys
  • Featuring Frank Hart of Atomic Opera
  • Expertly remastered by Bombworks Sound / Rob Colwell
  • Featuring the extra Japan-only bonus track, "Had to Move"
  • 12-page booklet / jewel case with lyrics

Moonflower Lane is guitarist Ty Tabor's second solo album outside his full-time band, King's X. By making quite a name for himself in hard rock/heavy metal circles over the years, many would expect a full-on metal-guitar-shredding release, but Tabor has always emphasized the importance of melody and songwriting over carefree guitar wanking. Since Tabor handles all the album's singing himself, Moonflower Lane has more of a strong Beatles flavor than your average King's X release (Tabor's voice is similar to John Lennon's at times). Highlights include the hopeful opener "I Do," and the melodic hard rock of "The Island Sea," as well as "I Know Everything" (on which Ty's son plays French horn!), "The Truth," and "Her Palace." Moonflower Lane is full of first-rate Tabor compositions that longtime fans have loved and cherished since it’s release in 1998! First time ever on vinyl – and limited to just 400 units – get it while you can in either black or random color! This 1998 masterpiece has been digitally remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound, and includes the Japan-only bonus track, "Had to Move," which might be the single greatest bonus track ever!  We can't believe it got left off the original issue! Every CD comes with a Ty Tabor foil-stamped trading card that will please the most avid collector. Get this treasure while you can!

- Ty Tabor / vocals, guitars, bass, organ, percussion
- Alan Doss / drums, organ, percussion
- Ben Huggins / background vocals
- Monty Colvin / background vocals
- Josh Tabor / French horn
- Frank Hart / cello
- Wally Farkas / snake charmer


Comparable to Brian May and Ace Frehley, Ty Tabor has an identifiable guitar style all his own.

          AllMusic.com / Greg Prato

The brilliant guitarist guitarist behind King's X proves he is no one trick pony. Moonflower Lane gives Ty a chance to spread his musical wings. 

               Scott Waters / NoLifeTilMetal Reviews

Fans of King's X will rejoice.  Moonflower Lane is decidedly King's X-ish in execution and overall tone.  For those familiar with the songs Ty has sung in the past, like "Mississippi Moon" and "It's Love," you are in for more of the same here.  The new songs neither over-extend his songcraft into bizarre areas, nor step back, but are rather solidly in keeping with what Ty does best.  That being his mix of Beatlesque vocals with harmonizing hard rock sensibilities in a powerful combination of beautiful song arrangements and great guitar riffs.  The songs soar, the guitars rock, and deft drumming from Alan Doss of Galactic Cowboys (his partner for this album) keeps the beat with indisputable skill.  The sitar makes a slight return on "I Know Everything," and Frank Hart of Atomic Opera even lends some cello bits.  The other Galactic Cowboys also make appearances here and there, but neither Doug nor Jerry of  King's X show up.  This only makes for a departure in band credits, not in the King's X signature sound, which is assuredly intact for the most part.

Moonflower Lane is not quite as aggressive and funky as King's X; neither is it full of slouching, self-indulgent experiments that smite some solo releases.  Tabor's album is certainly full of requisite power rockers, introspective lyrics, delicate ballads, and outright anthems.  It's sensitive, timely stuff that will bring waves of resounding euphoria to your ear. 

One departure from recent King's X tradition, however, is that these songs are both joyful and refreshingly free of cynicism in mood as well as more overtly inspirational in overall character.  In most of these tracks, Ty celebrates his devotion to either God or his wife in songs that are clearly concerned with doing the right thing under heaven and in earthly relationships.  It's  not all love and roses, however; songs like "The Truth" continue Ty's deserved  criticism of misguided Christian preachers, and others like "Hollow Eyes" are  more elusive.  Some of the love songs seem a tad quaint if you read the lyrics, but are nevertheless heartfelt and honest in sonic elocution much like the passionate delivery on the rest of the  album.  In a moment of true celebration, Ty captures a wonderfully-spirited sentiment when he sings:

I look for the Voice that will move like the wind
I pray that I don't blow it off again
The rumble of man, and my eyes, help me try not to hear
and I'm hoping there's nothing to fear
Let the Truth set me free.
          Steven Stuart Baldwin from the Phantom Tollbooth

Moonflower Lane, Ty Tabor’s first solo album on a label, is a virtuoso release, saturated with infectious hooks. It is equal parts ingenious and complex. Enthusiasts of King’s X and melodic rock will want to grab this remastered edition.  
Doug Peterson (Music Critic)

Ty brings a wonderful range of emotion through words and music on Moonflower Lane.  I love this album as much as any King's X release.  
      Rob Colwell / The Metal Round Table

1 I Do 3:25
2 The Island Sea 3:56
3 Live In Your House 4:15
4 I Know Everything 5:25
5 The Truth 4:30
6 Without You 4:19
7 Hollow Eyes 5:49
8 Walk With My Love 3:05
9 Another Day 3:15
10 Her Palace
Organ, Percussion – Ty Tabor 5:31
11 Had To Move (Japan only bonus track)

Product, Packaging, Shipping and Insurance
All new items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging and come without damage or cracks. Every record or CD is shipped in original factory sealed shrink wrap.  If we notice damage we will either put it in a new jewel case or send you a replacement case with your order. If you get a CD that is opened, it's because it was either an import or the jewel case was replaced.  If your product does meet your expectations, please contact us immediately.  All of our New CDs are factory sealed direct from the manufacture, distributors or bands. We sell pre-owned CDs as well which will be labels as pre-owned in the title, bullets or description. We do not sell CDRs or Syntax Creative that you get when you order CDs via print on demand from Amazon, yes those are also CDRs.
We strongly encourage you to purchase Insurance for your order at checkout. It will cover your entire order for lost, stolen or damaged while in transit, not just this item. Without insurance your product will not be replaced or refunded. 

All CDs are shipping in a high quality bubble mailer or rigid envelope via USPS First Class Mail or Media Mail. All domestic vinyl orders are shipped USPS Media Mail in the USA. All international orders are sent USPS First Class Airmail. We package all vinyl using heavy duty record mailers with padded inserts to minimize damage to vinyl during shipments. 99% arrive without issue. See our Shipping Insurance, Refunds, and Returns and Exchanges policy here



You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed