Hard to believe that it's been 25 years since this album dropped back in 1995.  2020 marks the 25th anniversary of this epic album from 80's Rockers Bride.

  • 25th Anniversary Edition
  • 12 Page Booklet
  • Jewel Case Edition
  • Release Date Aug 14, 2020
  • 2020 Girder Records
  • Remastered by Rob Coldwell of Bombworks Sound

Unique, Alt-Rock, Different, Grungy... there are many different words that one might describe DROP from Christian Metal Sensation BRIDE. Dale and his brother Troy were the Axl and Slash of the Christian Rock Scene. Bad-ass (yes, I said it), yet their first albums were glam metal. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Yet this album just sowed up on the scene as a surprise. If you were expecting more glam metal, like Trixter or Poison, this was much closer to Guns and Roses meets Pearl Jam and Mumford and Sons. And although many that tried their hands at converting their 80’s metal to more of an alt-grunge failed miserably, Bride did something rather unique while trying to say relevant. They not only captured the attention of critics, they managed to create an album that just gets better with age. 25 years after this album dropped (pun intended) this album just keeps getting better.   With new artwork and completely re-mastered by Rob Colwell, it’s been re-mastered and reloaded to perfection.

Digging into the music you’ll first notice the album starting off rather heavy with Personal Savior and song 3 You Never Knew Me. Mandolin on Life is the Blues and the Banjos that start the second track Mamma shows the creativeness that Bride brought to this album. After listening to Mumford and Sons you would think that modern bands always used banjos and such however in 1995 there was not a banjo in-site.   How Long is reminiscent of super early AC/DC with those slow yet heavy guitars, not the Back in Black but the ’74 Jailbreak AC/DC with more of a grunge element. This Bride album is years of seasoned musicianship and is everything we said. Better 25 years later.



  1. Personal Savior 4:01
  2. Mamma 5:04
  3. You Never Knew Me 4:33
  4. Life Is The Blues 4:25
  5. Help 4:58
  6. Only Hurts When I Laugh 3:42
  7. Thrill A Minute 3:39
  8. How Long 4:58
  9. Have You Made It? 4:13
  10. Nobodies Here 4:09
  11. I'm The Devil 6:56
  12. Jesus Came Back Via Jesus In A Pawn Shop 3:57


Dale Thompson - vocals
Troy Thompson - guitar, mandolin, banjo
Jerry McBroom - drums, percussion
Steve Curtsinger - bass guitar

Recording, engineering, mixing - Chris and Dino Maddalone
Mastered by Eddie Schreyer
Art Direction - David Bach
Photography - Michelle Thompson

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews
John Casey
Bride DROP

This has always been my favorite Bride album. I will not play the original cd, and waited a long time before purchasing the Girder spin on the album. WOWZERS, Girder has made everything about DROP 100% better! Thanks Girder for making a favorite even better!

Great Album!!

I bought Drop when it was first released and I was expecting more of a metal album, and of course I was a bit taken back when I listened to it.

It took a while to grow on me, but I soon came to love this album, and I would even go so far as to say it is one of my favorite out of the Bride catalogue.

As far as Remastered album go, I can pretty much never tell a difference between the "new" version and the original, but I am glad they come out so people who may not have had the opportunity to purchase albums like this when they were new now can obtain a copy.

The new artwork on this version of Drop is really cool!! Much better than the original cover in my opinion.

If you are a fan of Bride and do not yet have this album then I would encourage you to get it. I don't think you will regret it.

New Direction

As the liner notes make clear, this is a new sound for Bride. The Bride we all know and love made an intentional direction change to a softer sound. It's still a hard sound to me, but not quite as hard as previous projects. Some songs have a doom sound to them (You Never Knew Me), and others are almost pop (Life is the Blues). The lyrics are straight-ahead, with little nuance. For certain, this project is different from all the rest, but I love it.

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews ★ Write a Customer Review

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed