Mark Heard - Ashes and Light (Vinyl) 1984 Home Sweet Home Records

  • Folk Singer/Songwriter
  • 1984 Home Sweet Home Records
  • Lyricist will love this.

Ashes and Light is an album by Mark Heard, released in 1984 on Home Sweet Home Records. According to the liner notes, Heard recorded Mosaics first, but the record company wanted this album released first.

The cover says, "This album is dedicated to the memory of Francis A. Schaeffer, whose love for truth and whose understanding of the arts has helped me more than I can say, in my desire to interweave the two."

John Mark Heard was a folk rock singer, and songwriter. Heard released 16 albums, and produced and performed with many other artists as well, such as Sam Phillips (a.k.a. Leslie Phillips), Pierce Pettis, Phil Keaggy, Vigilantes of Love, Peter Buck of R.E.M. (who co-produced VOL's album Killing Floor with Heard), John Austin, The Choir, Randy Stonehill and Michael Been of The Call. Heard produced part of Olivia Newton-John's The Rumor, which also included a cover of Heard's own "Big and Strong" (originally called "How to Grow Up Big and Strong").

Side one

  1. "The Winds Of Time" - 3:59
  2. "True Confessions" - 3:31
  3. "I Know What It's Like To Be Loved" - 3:38
  4. "Washed To the Sea" - 3:23
  5. "We Believe So Well" - 3:34

Side two

  1. "Straw Men" - 4:01
  2. "Age Of the Broken Heart" - 4:16
  3. "Can't See Light" - 4:59
  4. "Threw It Away" - 4:06
  5. "In Spite Of Himself" - 3:09

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed