Sold out
  • Top 50 Christian metal albums of all time
  • Produced by Oz Fox STRYPER
  • Jewel Case with 12 page Insert
  • Includes 2 Bonus Tracks (1987 California Metal Compilation)

January 9th, 2018


The overlooked and underrated Guardian melodic hard rock debut survives the test of time with its endless array of hooks and catchy guitar rhythms I’ll Never Leave You” & “Mystery Man” should have been top ten hits. Tony Palacios is a guitar wizard second to only a select few. Oz Fox fills in on production.

Guardian’s 1989 debut release on the Enigma Records label. Oz Fox (Stryper) produced and mixed the album in addition to contributing vocals. Its still amazing that this eventual classic sold 30,000 units in just the first month of its release! Expect hook-laden melodic metal that combines huge Stryper-like vocal harmonies with a top notch display of musicianship. Paul Cawley contributes a gritty but clean sounding mid-octave ranged vocal in addition to handling rhythm guitar duties. Palacios is a wonderful talent who brings out the best in the band's sound with his melodic flavored and fast paced lead guitar work. Drummer Rikk Hart and bassist David Bach comprise a tight sounding rhythm section. David Bach contributes exclusive liner notes regarding the recording and release of First Watch. Guardian has been a household name in Christian hard rock and metal circles, contemporaries with Stryper, Bride and Whitecross! 14 total tracks including two tracks from California Metal comp produced by John & Dino Elefante (Kansas/Mastedon). This Retroactive Records 2017 release differs from the now out-of-print 2009 reissue in that the 2017 Legends Remastered version of First Watch has been remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound and this CD reissue is a jewel case release which includes a 12 page insert with many band pictures and lyrics. This is the definitive CD reissue for one of the most epic and beloved melodic metal releases of all time! This is a “One of a Kind” reissue that will usher you into the “Kingdom of Rock” like never before!


1 I'll Never Leave You 4:32 
2 Mystery Man 4:07 
3 Livin' For The Promise 4:09 
4 Miracle 4:56 
5 Saints Battalion 3:47 
6 Kingdom Of Rock 3:25 
7 The Good Life 4:41 
8 One Of A Kind 3:33 
9 World Without Love 3:56 
10 Rock In Victory 3:50 
11 Hyperdrive 4:17 
12 Marching On 3:55 

California Metal Compilation 
13 Spiritual Warfare 
14 Marching On

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review

Great cd

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed